Personnel

For more information on:
Contact:
International Coal & Energy Policy
Coal Mining Production
Research and Development
Michael Karmis, Director
Virginia Tech
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-5273
(540) 231-7057
Fax: (540) 231-4078

National Capital Region Office
900 N Glebe Road
Arlington, VA 22203
(571) 858-3090
Fax: (571) 858-3015
mkarmis@vt.edu

Mine Ventilation
Risk Management
Emergency Response

Kray Luxbacher, Associate Director
Virginia Tech
106 Holden Hall
(540) 231-2244
kraylux@vt.edu

Environmental Impacts
Research Initiatives
Coal mining and reclamation
John R. Craynon, ARIES Project Director
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-9462
Fax: (540) 231-4078
jcraynon@vt.edu
Monitoring Verification and Accounting
Geophysical Methods and Survey Design
Ellen Gilliland, Geophysicist
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-6466
Fax: (540) 231-4078
elleng@vt.edu

Energy Economics
Environmental Impacts

Nino Ripepi, Assistant Professor
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-5458
Fax: (540) 231-4078
nripepi@vt.edu

Information Systems
Underground Wireless Communication and Tracking
Virtual Reality Research/Training Systems

Steven Schafrik, Research Assistant Professor
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-2007
Fax: (540) 231-4078
miningrocks@vt.edu

Research Assistant
Edmund Jong, Post Doc Associate
Tel: (703) 994-8279
eddyjong@vt.edu
Coalbed Methane Simulation
Cigdem Keles, Post Doc Associate
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-8108
Fax: (540) 231-4078
cigdem@vt.edu
VCCER Management and Operations
VCCER Human Resources
Margaret Radcliffe, Assistant Director for Operations
Virginia Tech
460 Turner Street NW, Suite 304
(540) 231-7440
Fax: (540) 231-4078
Margaret.Radcliffe@vt.edu
General Office Administration
Project Assistance
Editing
Jessica Sparks, Executive Secretary
460 Turner Street. NW, Suite 304
Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 231-5038
Fax: (540) 231-4078
jjsparks@vt.edu